For this assignment I collaborated with a range of people,all different ages and styles. I liked collaborating with them as it gave me an insight of what it is like to photograph people of different ages and if it was difficult or not. Such as photographing someone who is 7 turned out to be easy, however I haven’t photographed a mass of 7 year olds so I couldn’t give that as a solid answer.  So far through this course we have collaborated before, by doing tasks within the class such as the scavenger hunt and the band shoot task.

To collaborate with my models I used a variety of ways. Such as when I asked my mum I asked her face to face which was the same with the older lady, with Megan I text her, with Maddie I text her mum,with Shauna I text my Dad,with Ebony I text her mum.

With all the models we agreed that they would do their own make-up and I would take the photographs. We decided this as I explained my idea for the CoLab project and we agreed that it would be best for them to do their make-up as that it was my idea was.

We worked together well as we were communicating well and we both listened to each other which helped a lot. We also shared ideas of what would be best and how we could achieve that. Before we took the shoot we planned what day,where and when we took it. I also had a bit of input into the make-up side as the models asked me if they looked okay ect. No one was a dominant in the shoot as we both had equal parts to do and we both took responsibility into what we had to. I’d say we were organised by doing our planning and knowing what we wanted to be the final outcome. However for the younger girls I’d say I was more dominating as they didn’t really know what to do, so I spent more time helping them succeed in what they needed to do.

The research I had done helped me create my final outcome as it allowed me to see how different people had done their make-up,no matter their age. I think my favourite part of researching was when I researched Iris Apfel because she was just a quirky individual. Iris Apfel influenced me to use an older person for my assignment because I wanted to show the contrast of younger people compared to an older generation.

I also wanted to use an older generation because of the older ladies I see in work with their bright blue eyeshadow over powering their whole face, or their bright red lipstick which ends up in the creases of their lips. It shows that they haven’t changed their style of make-up since they had first done it, it shows that their make-up hasn’t changed over time but it does show how people have adapted it over time. Although I didn’t use an older lady with loads of bright coloured make-up on, I still feel that it shows that once you get older you don’t need as much make-up as people my age wear, because by the time you are 80 years old you have finally accepted your self and no longer care what people think of you,or how you see yourself.

I feel like I had done enough research and a wide range of it because I have researched make-up styles from different countries and make-up stereotypes that people have places on Southerners and Northerners. By researching a wide variety it gave me an insight on how people from different countries have a different way of putting on their make-up compared to people from England.

My ideas had changed throughout this project because I was going to use my cousin who is 4 but didn’t end up using her. The reason I didn’t end up using her was because I had done some research on children wearing make-up, such as beauty pageants ect, and I didn’t want my work to portray something that I don’t feel is right.

My english skills were used throughout this project because I have been evaluating my work and using it on an everyday basis. My maths skills were used occasionally when I needed them. For example when I was doing the what is my time worth task, I had to do some calculations on how much I would be paid if I was a professional photographer. I also used it when I was doing the white balance on the camera and the shutter speed ect.

I didn’t vary my photoshop techniques because I wanted to make the photos look sharp and light. I didn’t do much to them because I wanted their faces to be true and to show their ‘imperfections’. For the camera I had to experiment with the ISO and the shutter speed, which I had never really done before.

For the character development chart I feel like I have done all of it because by working with someone else you need to know how to communicate and how to respect the other person. Taking responsibility is important for a project like this because it makes you more professional as you have more deadlines to reach and the person would want to see the final piece of work you have produced.

For this project I feel like I dealt with my stress levels well as I didn’t stress as much because I had started taking photo shoot as soon as I planned what I was going to do and had my idea written down. I have met the deadline as I have all my images printed out and ready for the 7th. My time management is so much better since the first project as I have learnt the priorities of the tasks and what needs to be done first, and what needs the longest time to do.

I put a lot of effort into my work because I wanted to make sure that my idea had come across in my work. I also wanted it to do be finished in a professional manner. For each shoot I tried to take 5 good photos that I could use and edit, and then find the one I was going to use for the age.

The challenges I had faced was easy to overcome as I realised I didn’t actually want to do that anyway ( using a 4-year-old) This was first a challenge because my Auntie had no time for me to go over and take photos of Isla. But once I had done more research into younger girls wearing make-up I decided I did not want to do it because I didn’t want portray something I don’t feel is right.

I learnt that you need to have communication skills if you want to work in a professional manner, because you need to communicate your ideas and where you want the model to stand. Communication is also important because you need to talk to the model about what is going to happen and the legal side of things. Respecting the model is more than important because you need to allow the model to trust you so that you can take photos of them. You also need to respect the model because you need them to still want to do the shoot at the end of the project, and if you don’t respect them they wont want to work with you.

The work I have produced meets the assignment brief because I have worked with more than one person collaboratively, and have achieved the goal that I wanted to do achieve. My work and documented evidence shows what I had done to achieve my work and how the people I had collaborated with had an involvement in the work I had produced.

The parts that I had enjoyed were when I had watched the models do their make-up and taking the photos of them off guard so they looked more natural. Also whilst taking the photos it was more fun then serious because of the way we made the atmosphere feel.

Next time I want my work to look more sharp because there was two photos that I am not 100% sure on but I like. I just wish there were more sharp and the colours were better. The reason they had not come out as sharp as I wished they did was because of the lighting. Even though I edited the photos more brighter and less yellow, they still aren’t as sharp as I hoped. To make the lighting better I will book out some lighting equipment to make sure that the light is not as yellow and projects a more bright white colour.

When we had done the paired crit with someone else in the group we received some feed back, the feed back I got was about using the studio for some portraits so that the model was the main subject in the photo. Which I 100% agree with because then maybe the photos would be more sharp and it would look more professional because the back ground wouldn’t be as busy as they are.

Screen Shot 2016-12-06 at 10.09.36.pngThis is a pie chart showing how many hours I had spent on each section. I feel like this is a good amount of time spent on each one because I had done 6 photo shoots and edited 5 photos each photo shoot, the time I have taken to do this project is a good amount of time.

If I was to charge a client for the work that I had done I would be charging £900 ( 60hours-x£15) That is a lot of money to pay but thinking about the amount of work that has been put in and the hours that I have spent ect that isn’t a bad price.

