For this task we have been asked to use are researching skills to find out information about: average minimum wage for our age, average UK working hours a week and average working week of a photographer.

Average Minimum Wage For A 16 Year Old:

To research this I used thew website https://www.gov.uk/national-minimum-wage-rates because it is a trusted website set up by the government to give out information to people who need it.Screen Shot 2016-11-29 at 09.43.18.png

This chart clearly indicates the pay for each age group on an average in October 2016. For 16 year olds the average pay is £4, which has gone up from £3.87 last year in April 2016.

Average UK Working Hours A Week:

On average you can’t work more than 48 hours a week, unless you opt out of that and work more. Some jobs require you to work more than 48 hours a week, depending on the job role.Screen Shot 2016-11-29 at 09.47.50.png

If you are under 18 years old you can’t work more than 8 hours a day or 40 hours a week. I also found this information on https://www.gov.uk/maximum-weekly-working-hours/overview

Average Working Week Of A Photographer:

The average working week of a photographer is 40 hours or more depending on the area of photography you do.For example portrait photographers work up to 40 hours a week, whereas news photographers usually work longer and irregular hours meaning they must me ready to work on short notice. http://www.photography-schools.com/photography-career-conditions.htm

International Salaries Comparisons: 

A Uk commercial photographer earns £20,011 a year.

An American commercial photographer earns $45,602

An Australian commercial photographer earns $AUS 58,181

Calculation Time=Money

For the second project ‘Going Local’ I worked out that I spent 70 hours on the project, if I was to get paid by college I would receive £280.

The hourly rate for a commercial photographer is £10.42, so if I was charging that much for the hours I did for ‘Going Local’ I would receive £729.40 which is over double what I would get if I was charging for my average minimum wage.

