Research:

My ideas came from the day we got briefed from the  Devon Wildlife Trust when she talked about how balloons are dangerous to turtles as they think they are food once they have lost their helium.(This helped stem my second idea) At first I was dead set on doing something fashion related, I originally wanted to create a garment out of pieces of old rope from beaches. However I thought more into it and it would have taken a longer amount of time to create due to having to go to various beaches to collect pieces of rope and then making the garment, with everything else I had to do on top. But i prefer my second idea to my first anyway, so I am glad it worked out like that.

The world around me helped me with my research due to everyone,including myself,polluting the ocean with many different things. What surprised me the most was how much plastic is going to be over populating the oceans in the future. By knowing this it made me want to emphasis on plastics for my project and how doing small actions can prevent this, even if it is something small, it is still being changed.

The research I had made me develop more in the fact that I was trying new things and experimenting with something that may not even of worked first,second or third time. It took time and patients with the research because I needed to know how to set everything up and how to capture what I wanted to capture. Researching more into plastics helped me come up with putting plastic in the water of the balloon, to me this has shown that every bit of water in the ocean is soon enough going to have a bit of plastic floating in it.

Personally I do feel like I researched into enough depth for my final outcome due it to being successful. The research I had done may not be all related to my final outcome but it helped me understand more about pollution and what it’s going to be like in years to come.

Concept

My work is about how people can do small things to change the outcome they are creating within the ocean. I wanted to emphasis on the popping balloons and how that can help the sea life that is in the oceans around the world. I wanted to show popping the balloon has less of a risk of harming the sea life, I added the plastics in the water because I wanted the water to represent the ocean with plastic pollution. Showing that even though you have popped the balloon instead of letting it go, there is still going to be a lot more things to be done to help reduce the plastics in the oceans.

My ideas had developed and changed throughout this project as I was originally going to take my shoot on a beach in front of the sea, but once I had researched how other photographers had set up their shoots and what backgrounds they had used, I realised that a busy background would look too messy and I wouldn’t have achieved the same outcome I have with a black background. My idea was to edit the final outcome using HDR editing, I tried it and it didn’t look right, I don’t know what it was about it but I just don’t think it suited the style of photograph it was. I think HDR photography works better with landscapes and buildings.

I want to say that my work has shown my ideas but I guess it’s how people will perceive the image and their reaction to it.

Core Skills

The maths skills that I used for this project was setting up my shoot, as I had to measure bits of string, the angle of the off camera flash, and the distance the camera had to be from the balloon to get a good shot. Camera settings had an element of maths in it due to having to work out what aperture to put the camera on and what ISO it had to be on with a shutter speed of 1/250. English was used throughout the project due to evaluating each piece of work and evaluating the research I had done.

Technique

I experimented with a fast shutter speed, this was new to me as I hadn’t done anything like this before.I learnt how to do this by doing research and watching YouTube tutorials, which were actually really useful. I knew how to do it to a degree I just didn’t know what settings would work best for the outcome I wanted. On photoshop I just used clarity,contrast and saturation, which I’ve used before in previous projects, however I used more of multiply,feather and contract, whilst editing the plastic inside the balloon. This was good as it was more practice that I can now say I’ve done and I know how to use them properly now.

Character Development

I think I have developed on my drive and grit throughout this project because I had an idea,researched it and I got it done. Whereas for other projects I would be researching more and more than do the shoot, which left me with not a lot of time to edit the photos and see what needed to be done to them.

I managed my stress levels well as I knew what I wanted to do and I managed to get it done the way I wanted it. I would be more stressed if I left it last-minute as I wouldn’t be able to do the editing I had to do in a short amount of time. I am glad I gave myself a day to edit the photo as it let me experiment with techniques and not just settle with my first outcome,which is sometimes what I do.

I have met the deadline because I have finished what I wanted to achieve the week before it was due. This was down to my time management and what I prioritised over minor things that could be left last. Being in college everyday helped with this project as it allowed me to use the time I had in here to research the work I needed to do without any distractions which I would get at home.

I feel like I put a lot of effort into my work as I wanted to create something different from everyone else. Initially I thought I wouldn’t get it done and achieve it all in the time that I had. So I wanted to show myself that I can do it so I tried to achieve it in the best way I could.

The challenges I faced were easy to over come. The first challenge I had to face was the placement of the balloon and how I was going to hang it up in the air. The second challenge was that the off camera flash was playing up, so I had to keep turning it off for a few minutes and then turn it back on again so it would catch back up with the camera. Finally the last challenge I faced was the timing of the popping of the balloon and when to take the photo, I had many shots of half of the water before it hit the bath, or I had photos just before the pop. But thankfully I had a shot of the all of the water that I could work with.

Professionalism

I learnt that shutter speed is quite a big area of photography a lot of people do and have work on. I also learnt that there is many styles of shutter speed and that many people interpret it in many ways. I feel like I have interpreted the way I did shutter speed and the meaning behind it, in my own way. Working with a brief that is presented by a company made this project gave me more of a drive to do the best I could, as you had to impress a stranger and not someone you see at college.

Working With The Brief

Throughout the project I feel like I was meeting the clients brief as I was making sure my work was showing the environmental side of the harm of plastics. My target audience was a variety of people so I kept the end photograph quite simplistic in a way. Rather than gory and not suitable for someone who is younger.

I didn’t find the brief easy but then I didn’t find it hard either. It was just the thought process of how I can achieve what I want and how is it going to relate to everyone else.

High and Low Points

I am most proud of the outcome of my project,due to how well it worked out. I am also proud on how I managed to actually capture the water burst after so many failed attempts and almost giving up. I am least proud of how the plastics didn’t show up enough in the original shoot but I overcame that by editing more in. I am not sure what I want to work more on next term.

What Did The Audience Think?

Context: How much have they communicated about the subject context of the project? How well informed was it? How clear was their purpose? How well have they articulated their ideas, the meaning and the information supporting their project?

Lillie seems to have a really strong understanding of the subject context when writing about the brief. I think she showed that she had a good plan for the project in the post ‘My Idea for The Future Project’. I liked how much detail she went into about the brief and how she will achieve her plans and ideas as well as showing an example of the kind of thing she wanted to create.

Research: How widely have they researched into artists and information/facts in relation to the project? Does their research clearly link to their final and developing art work? How well does it do this? How independent was their research?

There is extensive research evident in Lillie’s blog which shows she understands a lot about other photographer’s interpretation and there is good analysis into their work. However, I think she could include some more links between the photographers and her own work and how she could implement their styles into what she is doing and whether she has taken any inspiration from them.

Problem solving: Do they describe the challenges they have had in developing their project? How well do they describe how they overcame these challenges? How well did they deal with the challenges?

There isn’t a wide range of evidence regarding problem solving but in her post titled ‘Edit 1’ she describes how she used Camera RAW to fix some of the things she didn’t like about the original photo. I think she could write a bit more about some of the problems/difficulties she may have faced during shoots etc. so that there is more evidence of problem solving.

Planning and production: How well detailed was their project planning? How well they continuously evaluate their progress in relation to these plans?

There is a good blog post about what she plans for the project which goes into a lot of detail regarding what she plans to do and how she is going to do it. However, there could be more continuous evaluation posts to show how her ideas have developed over time and if she has made any changes/stuck with what she initially wanted to do.

Practical skills: How well have they used practical skills? How effective is the imagery? How well produced was it?

The imagery that has been produced is really strong and one of the best images I have seen this project. It’s clear that Lillie has a really good understanding of camera techniques including shutter speed and aperture settings as well as excellent Photoshop knowledge which is really evident in her final piece. It’s also clear that she has gotten better knowledge of Premiere and how it can benefit her work. One thing I would suggest is to try and include more photography so that there is a wider range of imagery.

Evaluation and reflection: Have they consistently evaluated their work throughout the project? How well have they done this? Describe some examples of where they have done this.

There is not consistent evaluation throughout the blog but where it is there it is quite extensive and well-written. The post I am referring to is ‘My Idea For The Future Project’. In her photography posts as well there is good reflection about what she has done and where she can improve.

Presentation: How well presented was the blog? How well finished and presented were the final images & time based piece?

The blog is nicely presented and the final image seemed to be really strong and relevant for the project. The time based piece was also really good as it is clear that she had good knowledge of Photoshop and Premiere which worked to her advantage.

Time Spent On This Project

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 09.28.09.png

4D Evaluation

My 4D problem was a timelapse from the top of Toyrus carpark. To create the timelapse I had to use a tripod throughout the process, the camera had a setting which created the timelapse for me. To edit it I used Premier which was good as it helped me adjust it to the way I wanted them to go.

I wasn’t really influenced by any artists to create this timelapse,however the research I had done had helped me understand how it is done and how long it takes to create, including the patients that is required to do it. The challenges that I faced were not ‘big deals’ as I eventually worked it out in the end, the problem I had been timing, how long was needed to create at least a 30 seconds timelapse. If I was to do this again I would do a timelapse on something more interesting, something different from everything else that has been done.

 

 

